Prof. Vishnu Sundaresan

Lab Director
Virginia Tech 2007


Dr. Vijayaraghavan

Prasant Vijayaraghavan, Ph.D.,
Postdoctoral Researcher
OSU 2018

Doctoral Students



Srivatsava Krishnan

Degrees: B.E. (Aero. Engg.) Anna Univ, M.S. (Mech. Engg.) OSU
Dissertation Title: Effect of Interfacial Adhesion on the Luminance of Mechanoluminescent Smart Structures
Short Description: This dissertation focuses on designing optical multifunctional structures that will use mechanoluminescence for design of structures, structural optimization, health monitoring and prognosis.


Paul Gilmore

Degrees: B.S. (Mech. Engg.) OSU, M.S. (Mech. Engg.)
Dissertation Title: Design of Conducting Polymer Cathodes for Potassium-Air Battery
Short Description: The objective of this dissertation is to develop novel membranes that can act as barrier membranes for selective species that can be applied broadly in metal air batteries and other novel energy storage devices.


Travis Hery

Degrees: B.E. (Mech. Engg.) MIT
Dissertation Title: Development of Pore Spanning Conducting Polymer as a Reversible Shutdown Membrane Separators for Li-ion Batteries
Short Description: This dissertation focuses on developing ionic redox transistors into a membrane separator that can be used to reversibly shutdown Li-ion batteries.



Vijay Venkatesh


Sujasha Gupta


Parker Evans

 (Au2015 – present)
B.S. (MechE) BITS-Pilani
 (Au2016 – present)
M.S. (Mat.Sci.) UF
 (Au2016 – present)
M.S., Univ of Arizona

Masters Students (Thesis)


Masters Students (Non-Thesis)


Undergraduate Students




  1. Prasant Vijayaraghavan, Ph.D. (Graduate student 2014-18).
  2. Vinithra Venugopal, Ph.D. (Graduate student 2011-2016), Intel Corporation
  3. Robert Northcutt, Ph.D. (Graduate student 2010-2015).
  4. Hao Zhang, Ph.D. (Graduate student 2009-2013), currently employed in NY.

Master of Science (Thesis)

  1. Thomas Ziebro, M.S. (Mechanical Engineering), General Motors
  2. Srivatsava Krishnan, M.S. (Mechanical Engineering), currently continuing in Ph.D.
  3. Paul Gilmore, M.S. (Mechanical Engineering), currently continuing in Ph.D.
  4. Andrew Morgan, B.S./M.S. (Virginia Commonwealth University 2010-2012)
    Parker-Hannifin Corporation (since Aug 2014)

Master of Science (Non-Thesis)

  1. Hugo van der Walt, M.S. (Mechanical Engineering), STERIS Corporation
  2. Adam Fox, M.S. (Mechanical Engineering), Battelle Memorial Institute

B.S. (Hons).

  1. Victoria Yee, B.S. (Hons), (Undergraduate Researcher, 2015-18)
  2. Chris Marino, B.S. (Hons), (Undergraduate Researcher, 2015-16), Armstrong World Industries
  3. John Thornton, B.S. (Hons), (Undergraduate Researcher 2013-2016), Graduate program, Stanford
  4. Hugo van der Walt, B.S. (Hons), (Undergraduate Researcher 2015-2016), Graduate program, OSU
  5. Jacob Maddox, B.S. (Hons), (Undergraduate Researcher 2015-2016), Tata Consultancy Services
  6. Thomas Ziebro, B.S. (Hons), (Undergraduate Researcher 2015-2016), Graduate program, OSU

Visiting scholars

  1. Pedro Urbina (Monterrey Tech, Mexico) – Drive over Wireless (DoWi)  (Jan 2013 – Dec 2013)
    Postdoctoral researcher in Mechanical engineering at Monterrey Tech, Mexico
  2. Gris Rios (Monterrey Tech, Mexico) – Wireless Hybrid Control System (Summer 2014)
    Masters student in Mechanical Engineering at Monterrey Tech, Mexico

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s